The New 05.30.12

Skatan – Control [mp3] (from Seven Trees, out now on Creature Sounds)
Tantric electo-folk music from Sweden.


Yeasayer – Henrietta [mp3] (from Fragrant World, out August 21st on Secretly Canadian)
New track from the purveyors of mutant R&B/world music.

Synthcake – Alice [mp3] (from Molded Through Seasons, out now)
Back in March, we featured Vancouver band Snythcake’s EP Musicophilia.  The circus-pop maestros are back with a new EP of “sci-fi-delic” goodness – available as a free download at bandcamp.

Elisa Luu – Se Fosse per Me [mp3] (from Un Glomo Sospesa, out July 6th)
Rome-based saxophonist and composer, Elisabetta Luciani moves freely along the spectrum from fusion to jazz.  This single from the forthcoming Un Glomo Sospesa is an ethereal amalgamation of electronic music, freewheeling psychedelia, and modernistic elements.  It’s a superb composition with a wavelike structure and evolving melodies.  Fans of Eno and Steve Reich will probably like Elisa Luu.

Revolution, I Love You – Cotton Shirts [mp3] (single )
Languid piano & guitar with echoing finger snaps lay the foundation for this dreamy tune from Philly slow-jammers.

Kandodo– Laud the Hyena [mp3] (from Kandodo, out June 12th on Thrill Jockey)
Solo project of Simon Price (The Heads) that explores tones and textures that manifest the yearning of his life in Malawi.

The Shrouded Strangers – Drinking the Spider Silk [mp3] (from Lost Forever, out now on Trade Root)
With a sound that harkens to the 90’s underground, these east coast/west coast indie rockers tear the roof off with equal parts power rock trio and psychedelic blow-out.  They describe their new album as “psych-singalongs, guitar cubism collages, Casio freak-outs, and childhood hallucinations with appalachian jazz flourishes.”

Radiation City – Find It of Use [mp3] (from Cool Nightmare EP, out now on Tender Loving Empire)
Portland’s ‘Best New Band of 2012’ makes danceable retro-pop that alternates between catchy and anthemic.

The Michael J. Epstein Memorial Library – Faith In Free Part 1  [mp3] (from Faith in Free EP, out now)

Apollo Cobra – Feel It Break  [mp3] (from Motherland, out June 23rd)


One response to “The New 05.30.12

  1. Pingback: The Dadaa picks up on Lost Forever single #3 (“drunk on the spider silk”) « shrouded strangers·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s