Rain from the Cloud 4.18.12

Carter Cola – ‘Between the Dots’ (from Between the Dots/Ouroboros Street Single)
Self-described as “three-chord indie rock minus the chords”, Denver-based Carter Cola employ bass, drums, and computer sounds to render spacious and austere electro-rock anthems.

Henry Clay People – ‘25 For the Rest of Our Lives’ (from 25 For the Rest of Our Lives out June 26th on TBD Records)
L.A. quartet Henry Clay People’s new record was produced to appeal to the band’s younger selves.  This lead single suggests a more than tolerable indie rock version of ‘Summer of ‘69’.

The Magic – ‘Mr. Hollywood’ (from Ragged Gold out June 25th on Half Machine Records)
Charming Canadian electro-pop from the Brothers Gordon.

Marissa Nadler – ‘The Wrecking Ball Company’ (from The Sister, out May 29th on Box of Cedar Records)
Boston-based dream-folk singers new single is beautiful and bleak, featuring organ and sparse drumming as accompaniment to Nadler’s deft & delicate guitar and haunting vocals.

Substatic – ‘Midnight in Paradise’
Prefacing their music with “think 80’s Madonna meets Daft Punk”, Bristol band Substatic deliver with white-hot beats and sultry, melodramatic vocals.

French Wives – ‘Sleep Tight’


One response to “Rain from the Cloud 4.18.12

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s