Blogophilia Re-posted: Volumes 1 and 2

Blogophilia refers to the series of mixes that were developed from promotional mp3s found on different music blogs.  As we’ve grown, we’ve come to rely less on other blogs and more on what we’re sent that we review or feature. We receive a lot of requests to repost old Blogophilia mixes, and have to kindly refuse because of space issues.  Well, that’s going to change.

This summer, we’ll feature 2-3 Blogophilia posts a week until we’re current. If you’ve followed this site, you’ll know we already maintain links for the five most recent mixes.  So, we’ll go volumes 1 through 24 for the summer. Mixes are up for one week, and then we’ll take them down.  Today, we’ll offer Volumes 1 and 2.

These first two volumes were actually experiments with the now-defunct site, Mixwit.  These were later mixed and featured on The Dadada as “Blogophilia” the official mixes of this site. This was a fleeting idea at the time, and the only mixes for 2008. Volumes 3 and 4 weren’t mixed until April and May in 2009, when the series became a regular feature. These first volumes are very different from what is posted today. These are shorter (most mixes take a full disc), and contain several tracks not recorded within the year or a year from the mix date. Volume 2 is the only mix with a theme–America.

Ah, but they exist… All you collectors have a week to grab these first two. Then these go back on the shelf!

Blogophilia Volume 1
Gapless Mix
MP3s @ 320 kbps VBR

Get the all tracks in one zip file

Originally posted 10/08

01 Lost Coast Lines – Okkervil River
02 Baby Noise -Tusk
03 Poison My Cup – Shannon McCardle
04 Paint A Face – Neil Halstead
05 Zip City – The Drive By Truckers
06 Motorcycle – The Rumble Strips
07 Phony Revolutions – Crooked Fingers
08 X Off days – The New Year
09 Ghosts – Laura Marling
10 Skinny Love – Bon Iver
11 Everybody Here Is A Cloud – Cloud Cult
12 Sun Medallion – King Tuff
13 Lullabye – The Editors

Blogophilia Volume 2
Gapless Mix
MP3s at 320 kbps VBR
Originally posted 11/08

Get the all tracks in one zip file

01 – Vampire Weekend – Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa
02 – Steve Malkmus & the Jicks – Baltimore
03 – Wilco – Hotel Arizona
04 – Alberta Cross – Old Man Chicago
05 – The Hold Steady – Sequestered in Memphis
06 – REM – 06 All the Way to Reno
07 – Crooked Still – 07 Old Viriginia
08 – Gillian Welch – Look at Miss Ohio
09 – Aimee Mann – Phoenix
10 – Justin Townes Earle – South Georgia Sugar Babe
11 – Casiotone for the Painfully Alone – Graceland
12 – Bob Dylan – Mississippi



2 responses to “Blogophilia Re-posted: Volumes 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: The Editors covers The Cure (doubling up on creepy) « Caffeine And Science·

  2. Pingback: The Editors covers The Cure (doubling up on creepy) | Caffeine // Science·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s