“Get Some” – Lykke Li

Like many people, I downloaded the freely available single (all for an e-mail), Get Some, from Lykke Li on October 25 (it’s a blogo 23 candidate).  Frankly, I was surprised by the overt sexuality of the track.  Not because I am offended by overt sexuality,  I just had a different perception of her.  Up until this point, she was a covered up, hair in the bun, kind of gal.  Now it’s POW!!! HERE I AM!

Li insists that the transformation is about demonstrating power and less about sexuality.   In a recent interview with Pitchfork she states, “Because you’re a woman, the music industry puts you in another corner. I want to be fighting with the men. I want to be amongst the men, topless, throwing things.”  In Get Some, she sings, “I am your prostitute, you g’on get some!” When asked about the song’s meaning she explains, “Yeah, it’s not about being a sex prostitute. It’s about this power play in the war of the sexes. It’s a rat race, like, “I’m in charge,” “No, I’m in charge.” A lot of times females are in charge because they kind of have the pussy power. If they say, “I’m you’re prostitute,” then they mean, “I’m the power.“”

Hmmm…ok.  What’s clear is that Li has developed an identity as a strong female, and a confidence that was not evident in past efforts.  It’s refreshing to see, but I am pessimistic about how it will be received.  I think that there are too many simpletons who will either be 1) turned on and horny or 2) critical of Lykke’s “wanton” sexuality.  This isn’t the first time a female artist has used sexuality to make a statement about power.  Let’s just hope that Li’s cerebral take (read the Pitchfork interview and remember she is only 24) “gets some” traction.

Check out the new video for Get Some:

And let’s go back to the day with Little Bit, when she was a demure indie popster:

Li’s new album, Wounded Rhymes, is scheduled for release on March 1, 2011.  She will begin a world tour shortly after it’s release, and here are the confirmed dates:

Tour dates
Wed-March 9, Los Angeles USA, El Rey Theatre – Tickets
Then it’s off to Europe…

Mon April 4, Hamburg Ger, Grunspan – Tickets
Tue April 5, Berlin Ger, Astra Kulturhaus – Tickets
Wed April 6, Munich Ger, Muffathalle – Tickets
Fri April 8, Amsterdam Holland, Paradiso – Tickets
Mon April 11, Cologne Ger, Gloria – Tickets
Tues April 12, Bristol UK, Trinity – Tickets
Thur April 14, London UK, Shepherds Bush Empire – Tickets
Fri April 15, Leeds UK, Cockpit – Tickets
Sat April 16, Dublin Ireland, Tripod – Tickets
Mon April 18, Glasgow UK, Arches – Tickets
Tue April 19, Manchester UK, Academy 2 – Tickets
Thur April 21, Paris France, Le Cigale – Tickets
Mon April 25, Rennes France, L’Antipode – Tickets
Fri Apr 29, Copenhagen Denmark, Vega – Tickets
Sat Apr 30, Oslo Norway, Rockefeller – Tickets
Mon May 2, Stockholm Sweden, Cirkus – Tickets
Back in the U.S.

Sun May 15, Washington USA, 9:30 Club – Tickets
Mon May 16, Philadelphia USA, Theater of Living Arts – Tickets
Tue May 17, New York USA, Webster Hall on sale 19th Nov
Fri May 20, Boston USA, Paradise – Tickets
Sat May 21, Montreal Canada, Metropolis on sale 19th Nov
Sun May 22, Toronto Canada, Phoenix Concert Theatre – Tickets
Mon May 23, Chicago USA, Metro – Tickets
Thu May 26, Seattle USA, Showbox at the Market
Fri May 27, Vancouver USA, Vogue Theatre on sale 19th Nov
Sat May 28, Portland USA, Wonder Ballroom

Cheers…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s